How To Compare A Pages Version History in the Episerver Editor

Episerver like all good CMS systems will save a version of your page every time you change and save it.  This version management is useful for several reasons:

  • If you need your content to be approved by a manager, or, a compliance team, they can compare your changes to the previous version to figure out if your changes should be published onto the website.
  • If you need to legal prove what content was displayed on your websites and on what dates
  • If you need to revert your page information to a previous state

Having version management means that you never have to worry about  losing any of your changes, as all old versions of the page are saved to the history. In Episerver there are two ways to looks at a page’s history.

Option One

The quick version is to use the ‘Compare Versions’ button in the top editor menu:

episerver_compare_versions_0

To open the page comparison tool, find the page that you want to compare in the navigation panel, click on it.  After the page loads in the main display panel, click the ‘Compare Versions’ button as indicated in the screenshot above.  This will load the comparison tool.  If your page has only one revision, you will see an warning message.  If your pages has any revisions, then the tool will display the current version of the page and the last saved version of the page.  Any differences will be highlighted for you to see.

Option Two

The second option to compare versions is in the ‘Version’ panel.  By default this panel is disabled by default so the first thing you will need to do is enable it.

episerver_compare_versions_1

Find the page that you want to compare in the navigation panel, click on it. At the top of the navigation panel, click the settings icon button.  This will load the gadgets properties screen, click the ‘Add Gadgets’ option.

episerver_compare_versions_2

From the ‘Gadgets’ dialog.  Select ‘Content’ from the left-hand panel and then select ‘Versions’

episerver_compare_versions_3

At the bottom Navigation Panel, you should now see a tab called ‘Versions’ that lists the currently selected pages history.  Clicking on this will load that version of the page within the main panel.  If you want to revert your page to a previous state, in the top right-hand publish section:

episerver_compare_versions_4

Click the ‘Options’ drop down and you should see a big green ‘Republish’ button.  Click on this to revert the page back to it’s previous state.

 

 

Jon D Jones

Software Architect, Programmer and Technologist Jon Jones is founder and CEO of London-based tech firm Digital Prompt. He has been working in the field for nearly a decade, specializing in new technologies and technical solution research in the web business. A passionate blogger by heart , speaker & consultant from England.. always on the hunt for the next challenge

More Posts

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *